top of page

My personal reading journal

This is a digital version of my reading journal for our 40 book challenge. Keep track of what I'm reading, and give me recommendations!

Search
  • Writer's pictureKerri Cinnamon Wike

Rules by Cynthia Lord

I finished this book over the weekend. This story is told from the perspective of 12 year old Catherine, who has a younger brother (David) who has autism. Catherine loves her brother tremendously, but she gets very frustrated with him at times, and embarrassed y his behaviors in front of her friends. It's also hard for her to always come second with her parents. They have to put so much time, effort, and money into David, that theres often not much left for her. Understandably, Catherine feels less important at times, and is sometimes resentful of David. This was a great read for me as a parent of a child with ADHD. While he is not special needs in the way that an autistic child would be, he does take a lot more of my time and energy than his older brother does. This was a good reminder for me to make sure that I give both boys equal time and attention.


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Ghost

bottom of page